Navratri Colours 2013: Colors list for Durga Puja Festival Nine Days

By | November 29, 2013

Navratri Colours 2013: 9 Colors for Navratri Durga Puja Nine Days Festival

You may have came here while searching for 2013 navratri colours or colours of navratri or 2013 colours in Navratri or Navratri 2013 colours or Navratri 9 colors or some thing similar to these. You will get information about them all here below.

Which are the 9 colours used during Durga Navratri? What is the significance of those Navratri nine colours to wear or dress up in clothes of those colours in Navratri during Durga Navratri 2013 festival?

The tradition of Navratri 9 colours is very usual in Gujarat, Maharashtra and some other North Indian states during Durga Navaratri Puja 2013 .

In 2013, Navratri begins on October 5 with Kalasha Sthapana and ends on October 13 with Vijaya Dashami.


Navratri (Hindi: नवरात्री ; Gujarati: નવરાત્રી ; Bengali: নৗরাতরী ; Assamese : নৱৰাত্রি ; Marathi : नवरात्री ; Punjabi : ਨਰਾਤੇ ; Kannada : ನವರಾತ್ರಿ ; Kashmiri : نَورات / नवरात ; Telugu : నవరాత్రీ ; Tamil : நவராத்திரி ; Malayalam : നവരാത്രി) is a festival dedicated to the worship of the Hindu deity Durga.

Navaratri is one of the most important and sacred festivals celebrated in India and many parts of the World. The festival is celebrated for nine days to give honor or respect to the different forms of Goddess Durga and on the tenth day, the festival of Vijayadashami (Dussehra) is observed to celebrate the victory of good over evil.

Navratri Colours 2013 – Nine Colours for 9 days

As each day is dedicated to some one particular form of Goddess Durga so each day has its own value / meaning / significance in terms of color too. The devotees offer a particular coloured saree to the Goddess on each day. Each colour has a significance of its own and represents different forms of the Goddess.

Traditionally the colors remain the same but the form of the Goddess and name varies from region to region. Women, girls and children wear the particular color of dress (like Saris (Saree), churidhar) on each day of Navaratri.

The nine Navratri colours 2013 are Parrot Green, Orange, Yellow, Sky Blue, Pink, Grey, Green, Ink blue and Royal blue. On the tenth day, the Vijaya Dasami day, Red is the color chosen.

navratri 2013 colours

The list of colours for Navratri 2013

Saturday, 1st day, 5 October 2013 – Grey colour (Pratipada)

Sunday, 2nd day, 6 October 2013 – Orange colour (Dwitiya)

Monday, 3rd day, 7 October 2013 – White colour (Tritiya)

Tuesday, 4th day, 8 October 2013 – Red colour (Chaturthi Navratri)

Wednesday, 5th day, 9 October 2013 – Blue colour (Panchami)

Thursday, 6th day, 10 October 2013 – Yellow colour (Sashti)

Friday, 7th day, 11 October 2013 – Green colour (Saptami)

Saturday, 8th day, 12 October 2013 – Peacock Green colour (Ashtami)

Sunday, 9th day, 13 October 2013 – Purple colour (Navami Navratri / Dashami Navratri)

Hope you got to know about Navratri Colours 2013: 9 Color for Navratri Durga Puja nine days festival.


Incoming search terms:

  • the goddess saree colour
  • different dress to wear in this puja
  • colors to wear each day
  • colors for each day of navratri day five blue day six yellow
  • clothes days in dussehra
  • best colour sari for dugra devi
  • best colour clothes to use for pooja
  • among 9 days of dasara festival on wch day do v celebrate saraswati pooja ?
  • a girl wearing a yellow saree in durga puja
  • 9 colours of devi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

five − 2 =