Hockey India League (HIL) 2015 Winner: Ranchi wins Punjab lose

By | February 23, 2015

Hockey India League (HIL) 2015 Winner: This year’s season of this sport finished. It was a very entertaining tournament. In the final, Ranchi Rays team is declared as the winner as they won the title and thus trophy.

They defeated Jaypee Punjab Warriors by a score of 3-2. The result came from the penalty shootout for the finale match held in Major Dhayn Chand National Stadium on Sunday.

It was the game played for 60 minutes. In the play, 2 goals were scored by Punjab at 39th minute by Kieran Govers and at 56th minute by Christopher Ciriello. But the winners of 2015 session secured two goals from their team players support at 43rd minute by Stanli Minz and at 57th minute by Barry Middleton.

Afterwards, during the penalty shootout duration, the runner up players Simon, Rob and SV Sunil weren’t able to score even a single goal. But Dharamvir and Chris managed to score 2 goals for Warriors’. While from the opponent team, the skipper of Rays, Ashley and Daniel Beale successfully did two goals.

Hockey India League (HIL) 2015 Winner

Including this win / victory, Ranchi has now a total of two HIL winner titles / cup. Earlier, it won in the first / inaugural season of the game back in 2013. There are a number of players of Ranchi Rhinos who were a part of winning Rays team which was co-owned by MS Dhoni and Sahara Group. This is also the 2nd consecutive loss at the final of the tournament for Warriors.

In the other match of the same day, Delhi Waveriders claimed / secured 3rd position in this Hockey tournament by defeating Uttar Pradesh Wizards by 2-1. From the side of former champions (2014), Rupinderpal and Yuvraj scored two goals at 5th and 50th minute respectively. On the other hand, only one goal was done by Wizards. It was by Nikkin at 18th minute.

The final match of the 2015 HIL opened with a very tight first quarter in which both the teams didn’t allow opponent players to take any lead. Jamie Dwyer, the 5 times world player of the year wasn’t playing in this match. Still, Warriors managed to give a tight game.

Hockey India League (HIL) 2015 Winner

Hockey India League (HIL) 2015 Winner

Skipper Mark Knowles confidently played the most of the match. It seemed that he was well fit for it. But he had an ankle injury which didn’t let him to play in the semi-final against Delhi. From the side of Rays, skipper Jackson and Middleton played very well.

The match became more interesting when the defenders on the both the sides became adamant on not giving penalty corners to opponent in any case. Both the teams played very well but defending. Thus, it results in a goal-less half-time match. It was the second half where goals were observed from both sides.

Ranchi’s Ashley Jackson was declared as the best player of the tournament 2015. The winning team got 2.5 cr while the runner up received a sum of 1.25 crores.

This is all about Hockey India League (HIL) 2015 winner. What’s your thoughts guys. Cheers for the winners.

Stay tuned with us – SHAupdates Sports for latest and updated piece of every information regarding Sports events.

don’t forget to share. Keep visiting us.

Category: Hockey Tags:

About SHA updates

He is the Editor-in-Chief, and founder of An Engineer by qualification, lives in Delhi (India), and has many years of experience in journalism. He loves to cover latest hot trends across the globe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *